History Visit the Museum Get Involved Press FHM receives nearly $1,000,000 in state funding. 2013 Anne Frank Humanitarian Award Recipients Honored at the FHM Author Talk: The Accused FHM Honored Kindertransport Survivors at To Life: To Children FHM Honors Kindertransport Survivors at To Life: To Children FHM Hosts VSA Florida Exhibition FHM to Host Annual Yom HaShoah Commemoration Fifth Annual FHM Initiative will Reveal Local, International First-Person Account of Modern-Day Slavery and Genocide Florida Holocaust Museum Current Exhibitions Florida Holocaust Museum Mourns Death of Representative C.W. “Bill” Young Florida Holocaust Museum offers Genocide & Human Rights Awareness Month (GHRAM) Girls Inc. and FHM Join Forces to Break Down Barriers St. Pete 1 of 3 Cities to Receive Exclusive Exhibition FHM Announces Celebrity Program for To Life 2013 New Executive Director Named at Florida Holocaust Museum Florida Holocaust Museum hosts USS Honolulu Veterans Exhibit Opens July 21 FHM Honored the 2012 Anne Frank Humanitarian Award Recipients New Fundraiser Two Exhibits on View at the Florida Holocaust Museum Executive Director Steps Down Florida Holocaust Museum Executive Director Carolyn Bass Steps Down April is Genocide & Human Rights Awareness Month New Upcoming Event Florida Holocaust Museum Announces New Chief Finance and Operating Officer Become a Florida Holocaust Museum Docent Gallery Talk, Drumming to Make a Difference, SUSN Reception The Florida Holocaust Museum Honored the 2011 Anne Frank Humanitarian Award Recipients State of Florida CFO, Jeff Atwater: Renewed Opportunities to Help Survivors Staged Reading of Lullaby, Thurs., May 19, 6:30 p.m. at the FHM New Event: One by One Dialogue Between Descendants of the Holocaust and the Nazi Regime April is Genocide & Human Rights Awareness Month at the Florida Holocaust Museum Richard Notkin's Exhibit Opens at the Florida Holocaust Museum --2010 Kristallnacht Commemoration --Fall 2010 at the Florida Holocaust Museum --2010 Anne Frank Humanitarian Awards --Courage & Compassion On View in Atlanta -- FHM Mourns the Loss of Edie Loebenberg -- Genocide & Human Rights Awareness Month -- Answering Violence with Art -- Samuel Bak New Collection: Icons of Loss -- Genocide & Human Rights Awareness Month -- Local Curator Receives FAM's Innovator Award


  |   Email   |  Print

The Florida Holocaust Museum Honored the 2011 Anne Frank Humanitarian Award Recipients

St. Petersburg,FL (June 3, 2011) – During receptions on June 1 and 2, the Florida Holocaust Museum honored 89 high school juniors with the 2011 Anne Frank Humanitarian Award (AFHA).  The honorees attend public, private and parochial schools in Hillsborough, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas and Sarasota counties.  They are recognized as students who make a conscious decision to spend their time improving the lives of others. 


Dr. Judy Genshaft, President of the University of South Florida and Gayle Sierens, Co-Anchor for WFLA=TV News Channel 8 and Honorary Co-Chair of the AFHA Program, participated as special guest speakers on June 1 and 2, respectively.


Since its inception in 2001, the AFHA has garnered 100% participation from all elligible high schools in the five county area.  Confidential nominations are submitted by the schools and reviewed by members of the AFHA committee.  The honorees are recognized, by AFHA volunteer presenters, at their school's junior award ceremonies in addition to the Museum's receptions.  Each receives a personalized glass plaque symbolizing Kristallnacht - the Night of Broken Glass, an award certificate and a one-year family membership to the Museum.


The Museum is grateful to Sonia Raymund and Steve Raymund, sustaining sponsors of the Anne Frank Humanitarian Award Program.  Additional sponsors include Rosa and Werner Cohn and the James & Amy Shimberg Foundation.


Renee Walter and Jody Sherman are Co-Chairs of the Anne Frank Humanitarian Award Program.  County Chairs are:  Traci Klein and March Lechner, Hillsborough County; Rhoda Langstein, Pasco County; Claudia Stern, Pinellas County; Shirley Stepp and Rose Holloway, Manatee and Sarasota Counties.  Irene Weiss is the founder of the AFHA Program.


Honorees are:


Hillsborough County Honorees

Academy of Holy Names Katelyn Smith
Alonso High School Ayushe Misra
Armwood High School Jordan Cosentino
Berkely Preparatory School Katherine Ross
Blake High School Veronica Kellum
Bloomingdale High School Robert Rivers
Brandon High School Marlee Taylor
Cambridge Christian School Sarah Grove
Chamberlain High School Lindsey Corcho
Durant High School Erin Parke
East Bay High School Amy Kopstad
Freedom High School Kurt Schaller
Gaither High School Alexandra Maltezos
Hillsborough High School Julie Coutu
Jefferson High School Rachel Christy
Jesuit High School Hunter Pratt
King High School Betsey Giammattei
Lennard High School Mayra Espindola-Maya
Leto High School Jocelyn Macho
Middleton High School Kily Fontaine-Ellis
Newsome High School Kathryn Wallace
Plant City High School Justin Keel
Plant High School Davee Thompson
Riverview High School Jafet Reyes
Robinson High School Andrew Granholm
Sickles High School Natalie Scott
Spoto High School DanQing Huang
Steinbrenner High School Cary Anne Bame
Strawberry Crest High School Emily Almand
Tampa Bay Technical High School Roshni Patel
Tampa Catholic High School Danielle Natale
Tampa Preparatory School Bailey Carraway
Wharton High School Jamila Blake







 Manatee County Honorees

Bayshore High School Charlotte Brunson
Braden River High School Alexia Fernandez
Bradenton Christian School Heidi Newby
Lakewood Ranch High School Jamie Marchini
Manatee High School Mary Elizabeth Woodward
Palmetto High School Santiago Bejarano
St. Stephen's Episcopal School Robert Webster
Southeast High School                              Zayna Robinson


Pasco County Honorees

Anclote High School Kayle Bunce                          
Bishop McLaughlin Catholic High School Beverly Mejias
Fivay High School Kristen Waller
Gulf High School Shree Sundaresh
Hundson High School Cheyenne Boyer
J.W. Mitchell High School Anthony Cilluffo
Land O'Lakes High School David Roth
Pasco High School Amanda Dempsey
Ridgewood High School Paige Ledford
River Ridge High School Nicholas De Canio
Sunlake High School Courtney Durbin
Wesley Chapel High School Shelby Thompson
Wiregrass Ranch High School Brie Edmister
Zephyrhills High School Julia Hines                    


Pinellas County Honorees

Admiral Farragut Academy Stephanie Mitchell              
Bayside High School Craig Frounfelter
Boca Ciega High School Mark Wilson
Clearwater Central Catholic High School Megan Soloski
Clearwater High School Kayla Braden
Countryside High School Rachel Smith
Dixie Hollins High School Holly Davidson
Dunedin High School Joseph Nash
East Lake High School Erin Moore
Gibbs High School Brieanna Raiford
Indian Rocks Christian School Austin Alviles
Keswick Christian School Brad Schaefer
Lakewood High School Rakaile Washington
Largo High School Lisa Rickards
Mavericks In Education Karena Massey
Northeast High School Taylor Phillips
Northside Christian School Megan Britton
Osceola High School Brittany Carr
Palm Harbor University High School Samantha Kendall
Pinellas Park High School Lisa Massmann
Seminole High School Rachael Carson
Shorecrest Preparatory School Teagan Corrigan
St. Petersburg Catholic High School Brian Reith
St. Petersburg Collegiate High School Carlos Agatep
St. Petersburg High School Alicia Kingensmith
Tarpon Springs High School Carly Secor


Sarasota County Honorees

Booker High School Julianne Simson   
Cardinal Mooney High School Megan Rosploch
North Port High School Mahnoor Kamal
Pine View School Stevie Peacock
Riverview High School Rebekah Leopold
Sarasota Christian School Stanley Yoder
Sarasota High School Gabriel Colucci
Venice High School Ashley Bailey


<< Back